The Joy of Cooking

Good morning!!

Well, in about 17 minutes it’s going to be “Good Afternoon”! It’s 11:43, 44 now… I feel energetic today, though I got to say I’m a little thirsty and a little sleepy but NO! I need to feel dynamic today! I LOVE this feeling of wellness for no apparent reason.

Yesterday I invited my friend Amal over and cooked Iftar for her and my family; the process of cooking was joyful, I forgot how much I LOVE this feeling… The feeling of food, the smells, the accomplishing-something-yummy part.

I enjoy feeding people I love, I feel happy when they taste something and enjoy every bite. I think food is the best ice-breaker in any society, especially well-cooked food, it leaves people relaxed and merry.

The colors, smells and taste always feel like you engage almost all of your senses in the process of eating and cooking. You taste the food, see it’s colors and shapes, feel the heat and coldness, hear the clink of silver on china, and you smell the delicious smells…

In one of my top favorite movies “Tortilla Soup”, Carmen the eldest daughter tells her future boss (and I like to imagine her next boyfriend) about wine and senses.

Do you know why we clink glasses before drinking?… It’s so that all the five senses are involved. We touch the glass. We smell the drink. We see its color. We taste it. Hearing is the only sense that doesn’t participate unless we create it.

Image

Leave a Reply

