Eman Elahmad’s Private Haute Couture Show

I woke up on the first of July, on a Monday, a day of good health, with the highest of spirits! I was SO excited to get ready for the anticipated private fashion show at Ghada Elahmad’s house for her sister Eman Elahmad.

Image

First thing I did was opening the designer’s official website in order to know what to expect, I could see that Eman as a designer cares for colorful fabrics, heavy material, and traditional costumes mixed with our contemporary style. The garments seemed expensive and the designs exquisite.

Image

But most importantly, is that she takes what she does seriously enough to have a website and other social media platforms dedicated to her work. Hopefully her website will grow to actually sell couture online or at least pre order.

Image

Afterward I dressed in a hurry with a white H&M dress and black leggings, snatched my “Union Jack Weekender” bag [I adore this bag] and rushed to Emad Bazzi salon, trying to get perfect to rock the show. I picked light royal blue to be my color of the day. I added a Sally Hansen “Blue It” color for manicure and pedicure. Than the talented Ziad did my hair and made it look magazine-worthy-on-the-cover-hair look!

Image

I picked my dress, went home to get ready… after all the show was set on 6:00 and by the time I was ready it was 5:30. Suha was my plus one and she looked amazing in a white dress with blue, yellow and green pattern and blue heels. I wore my red Aldo heels and added my dear Digi Gem Clutch to brighten the outfit, I added more eyeliner and gloss, and some accessories.

Image

Suha and I were on our way and we reached the villa on 6:00 precisely. There were valet parking guys ready to take the ladies cars and help them to the door as the house is on a steep street that could break necks with heels on.

Image

Ghada opened the door with a bright smile on her face to let us in, she wore one of Eman’s designs which looked magnificent.

Image

When we crossed the foyer, I had an awed look on my face, and as always I couldn’t help myself, I told Ghada: “What a gorgeous house you have!” She smiled proudly and thanked me.

Image

And truly, the house was out-of-an-interior-design-magazine gorgeous. In the middle she had a few tables with orchids and appetizers presented for the guests, and behind them was a few set of hangers with the couture on them. On the right from the entryway, was one of the receiving room with high ceilings and a lovely pianist playing on the piano making the whole experience more enjoyable. A few ladies arrived before us and they were chitchatting animatedly.

Image

Ghada represented her sister to all of us when a few more ladies arrived, she was rather occupied and I believe rather nervous. Helping her was a young woman who was the stylist, doing the show was 3 young women with Arabian beauty.

Image

I gushed to Eman and told her how excited I was for the show to start, she was too, and she even complimented me on my looks and clutch.

Image

A photographer and a friend -Malik-  came on behalf for Layali Amman to capture the moment and the show began.

Image

It was a dress after a dress of luxurious and fabulous… I delighted in the fact that these dresses could be worn by any woman, with any style, age or size. And they weren’t old fashioned though ethnic and oriental, they somehow captured the youthful style of here-and-now fashion.

Image

A woman said after the show, how she wished she would had this option on her Jaha or engagement party, Jaha is the day when the man and all the men in his family and friends go to the girl’s house to ask for her hand in marriage in our customs, Jaha is a big deal here and it rises the value of the girl, some people even make the Jaha and “قراءة الفاتح وكتب الكتاب” nuptials and hymen in the same evening. The girl should wear something conservative and traditional because the Sheikh who will tie the union is present… and after all it is tradition. I agreed with her… the attire were gorgeous and very elegant.

Image

I asked Eman how long has it taken her to create all the clothes and concept she surprised me by saying “8 years”! Such a long time… but it’s worth it. What surprised me more is that Eman sued her own designs and took care of all the details. I LOVED that! She said she doesn’t mind doing alterations according to clients preferences as long as it doesn’t effect the spirit of the design.

Image

Women rushed to the hangers and tried on clothes, talked to the designers and bought couture… I even tried a few… and I was surprised of how heavy the clothes were. Without air conditioner in July, the heavy clocks would have been suffocating… but I guess most women dream of being suffocated by couture!

Image

I urge you to view the dresses and consider adding something special in one of the particular days of your life by trying one of Eman’s gorgeous vestures. Suha and I enjoyed the whole affair entirely, hopefully we will have an event that would allow for such an extravagant piece to hang in our closets. The prices range from 300+ to 1500+.

Image

View all the images on my Facebook page!

Enjoy Xxx

2 thoughts on “Eman Elahmad’s Private Haute Couture Show

Leave a Reply

