il dolce far niente

dolce far niente is an old Italian expression or phrase that literally means “sweet doing nothing” aka “Delicious idleness”. Sheer indulgent relaxation and blissful laziness, being deliciously idle.

It’s an Italian phrase I’d heard in Eat, Pray, Love – dolce far niente – meaning the sweetness of doing nothing. I like the idea. delicious idleness. very contrary to our cultural norm of the glorification of busy.

Everyone needs to be busy to be something in our time. To be interesting. I wonder who would like to be “un-busy” with me or who would like me when I do nothing. I think that’s true love. To be nothing and everything together. To be loved even when you do nothing.

To have a break from our time’s crazy life. To live slowly. I needed this break. Now it’s time to wake up.

Image

Leave a Reply

