Die for Me

“I had known that there was something different about Vincent. I had felt it, even before I saw his photo in the obituaries. It was something just a little east of normal, but too obscure for me to put my finger on. So I had ignored it. But now I was going to find out.”

Would you risk your life for love?

My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment ti change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia, and I were orphans. We out our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy, and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies… immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

While I’m fighting to piece together the remnants of my life, can I risk putting my heart as well as my life and my family’s in jeopardy for a chance at love?

1392069_604089499630386_646403450_n

“I spent the rest of my day in someone else’s story. The rare moments that I put the book down, my own pain returned in burning stabs. I felt like a circus knife thrower’s target. If I held my mind immobile, I might avoid being hit by the blades whizzing by my head. From time to time I fell asleep, but was immediately awakened by the dark, tortured dreams that, once I awoke, dissolved without a trace.” 

[Monday, October 17, 2011] I just finished the book and I can’t wait for book two. I’ve read great books lately and this is really one of them. I enjoyed the feeling of Paris, adventure, good food and love. Kate and Vincent are so cute together and I have to say I just loved Jules. Charlotte love to Ambrose promises great addition to the upcoming sequel.

“There’s nowhere I’d rather be than Paris in June. Even though I’ve spent every summer there since I was a baby, I never fail to get that “Paris buzz” as I walk down its summer streets. The light is different from anywhere else. As if pulled straight out of a fairy tale, the wand-waving brilliance makes you feel like absolutely anything could happen to you at any moment and you wouldn’t even be surprised.”

I learned so much about Paris just by reading the book. Like:

  1. Paris is divided into 20 neighborhoods, or arrondissements, and each one is called by its number.
  2. There is an unspoken rule in French cafés that a person can sit at their table all day if they want, as long as they order one drink per hour. It’s kind of like renting a table.
  3. Parisian apartment blocks have a constructed internal courtyard sheltered from the street.
  4. Paris is called the City of Light.
  5. There’s nowhere like Paris in June.
  6. Paris had been inhabited for millennia, so understandably, by the seventeenth century all the city’s churchyard cemeteries were overflowing. Some accounts told bodies floating around the city whenever the Seine River flooded. Finally the government condemned the city’s small graveyards, dug up the bodies from existing graves, and moved the bones to the underground caverns beneath Paris’s streets.

9780062004017

Leave a Reply

