International Day to End Violence Against Women

قال الرسول صلى الله عليه وسلم: “استوصوا بالنساء خيرا فان المراة خلقت من ضلع وان اعوج ما فى الضلع اعلاه فان ذهبت تقيمه كسرته وان تركته لم يزل اعوج فاستوصوا بالنساء”

Before Islam came to the world and gave women their rights to be humans and individuals and to make men act gentler towards them, the world was ruled by cruelty.

As seen in many historical fiction TV series and movies such as “300” and “Game of Thrones”, women were treated less than animals, traded around like things. With the blooming of Islam all that changed, and women started having opinions and positions and importance.

One of the reasons I love Islam so much is that whenever I read the Holly Quran or anything spoken by our dear prophet Mohammed -peace be upon him- I know how lucky I was to have been born a Muslim. I’m lucky that I belong to the most just of religions.

“I challenge anyone to understand Islam, its spirit, and not to love it. It is a beautiful religion of brotherhood and devotion.”
― Yann Martel, Life of Pi

I hate it when I see individualist and groups and racists act as if they know what Islam is, and miss how much Allah and our prophet have lionized women.

I chose to speak about my religion because it’s what sets me apart from many women who have been brutalized and abused. Being abused can come in many forms, spoken words or physical brutality.

As any other woman, I have had my fair share of horrible incidents, but I’m lucky nothing escalated to what I see other women around the world suffer everyday. Seeing such things, such brutalities, hearing stories makes my tears fall in frustrations.

No woman should ever be treated this way. I wish I was powerful or at least heard by many to make a difference, but I’m not.

But a man I follow is and he influences many men, and he is prophet Mohammed -peace be upon him, and as he says in the Hadith I shared in the beginning and translated here:

“I urge you to take care of women, for a woman was created from a rib, if you attempt to straighten her, you will break her.  And if you leave her alone you would benefit by her, and the crookedness will remain, I urge you again, take care of women.”

violence-against-women1

Leave a Reply

