The Hunger Games in the Middle East

“I was channel surfing between reality TV programming and actual war coverage when Katniss’s story came to me. One night I’m sitting there flipping around and on one channel there’s a group of young people competing for, I don’t know, money maybe? And on the next channel there’s a group of young people fighting an actual war. And I was tired, and the lines began t blur in this very unsettling way, and I thought of the story.”
― Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

We can all know where most of the war and conflict lays in the world… it’s implanted in my home… in the Middle East, as the western call it. Years ago, I bought “The Hunger Games” book, and I thought after reading Katniss Everdeen’s story that this girl must be Palestinian, one of us, one of the few originals that still fight for Palestine, for freedom, for home, even unaware, living on the edge, living a horrid live reality TV show everyday where thousands die for fighting for our lands, where we get bombs exploding everyday… you might say, what would I know? I would say, I was raised in one of the closest districts and I was raised with a rebellious soul burning inside of me like million of Palestinians around the world. When I say ‘we’ even so I’m not present in body, I’m there in spirit. We were raised to feel our people’s pain.

tumblr_mwzqrc9OdN1s8tu33o1_500

Even the created salute by the rebellions in all the district is very close to the V-sign we use to say not ‘peace’ as the world thinks but when a Palestinian rises his hand with a V-sign while covering his mouth with our international Hattah it means: we’re ‘still fighting on’ and we ‘will not stop fighting’.

And just like Ghaza, district 12 is hit continuously until no live is there, the reaping never stops, Israelian soldiers come to our houses burn our things and make us live in a horrible cold for 6 months, while taking our young men and women, to torture chambers until they wish they died with their families in the explosions and some politicians have the guts to say “When we ‘solve’ the Middle East…” as a metaphor to our struggle and their joy of creating the perfect arena for it.

Many young women and men represent our ‘Mocking Jays’ but none of them led us to victory yet. We are still waiting. We are still fighting. While the world looks at us, nameless dead terrorists and they call us the ‘problem’.

If you read The Hunger Games series, you would know that Israel, America and whoever stand behind them politically are the real Capital of this world and war we live in. I can’t point a finger at a ‘Snow’ and find our mutual enemy. For in reality, there is no ‘Snow’ there are hundreds plotting and designing the perfect Arena for this never-ending war we live in.

So, “May the odds be ever in our favor!”

tumblr_mwzqkgMsQ71sgwne2o1_500

Leave a Reply

