Friday the 13th

On ‎Thursday, ‎December ‎12, ‎2013, snow started falling in Amman, Jordan. On ‎Friday, ‎December ‎13, ‎2013 all electricity in so many neighborhoods including ours went down. The temperature was -3°C.

For four days afterward we spent a few of the coldest days of the year with no electricity. All the complaints and help numbers were deactivated, which made us feel more unheard and disconnected from the rest of the world.

We tried our best to keep warm through many cups of teas, coffee and soup, hot water bottles became our partners in bed, and lots of blankets.

In the fourth day we were dirty, upset, and our bodies ached from all the squeezing to get warm, we decided to draw a bath, yup, you heard me, like the old fashioned way! It was worth it, I felt a little more human afterward.

Next, my mom and I went to get more candles and easy-to-make food, and a shovel… driving was dangerous and mom was way too nervous. Thank God I bought one or we wouldn’t have reached our house.

My brother Tariq and a few other Egyptians started shoveling the ice around the neighborhood, after being stuck in ice for two days away from our house with mom. I decided to help clear some of the ice as well. I tried to help as much as possible.

After a few hours the electricity returned, people were so happy and relieved. It was one of those unexpected experiences that life throws your way. I’m glad my family and I were strong enough to survive that when many Jordanians have died or been injured.

الحمدلله

1460284_634127699959899_246198025_n

