Lost Lake

The first time Eby Pim saw Lost Lake, it was on a picture postcard. Just an old photo and a few words on a small square of heavy stock, but when she saw it, she knew she was seeing her future.That was half a lifetime ago. Now Lost Lake is about to slip into Eby’s past. Her husband, George, is long passed. Most of her demanding extended family are gone. All that’s left is a once-charming collection of lakeside cabins succumbing to the southern Georgia heat and damp, and an assortment of faithful misfits drawn back to Lost Lake year after year by their own unspoken dreams and desires.

It’s a lot, but it’s not enough to keep Eby from calling this her final summer at the lake, and relinquishing Lost Lake to a developer with cash in hand. Until one last chance at family knocks on her door.

Lost Lake is where Kate Pheris spent her last best summer at the age of twelve, before she learned of loneliness and heartbreak and loss. Now she’s all too familiar with those things, but she knows about hope, too, thanks to her resilient daughter, Devin, and her own willingness to start moving forward. Perhaps at Lost Lake her little girl can cling to her own childhood for just a little longer…and maybe Kate herself can rediscover something that slipped through her fingers so long ago.

One after another, people find their way to Lost Lake, looking for something that they weren’t sure they needed in the first place: love, closure, a second chance, peace, a mystery solved, a heart mended. Can they find what they need before it’s too late?

At once atmospheric and enchanting, Lost Lake shows Sarah Addison Allen at her finest, illuminating the secret longings and the everyday magic that wait to be discovered in the unlikeliest of places.

Lost_Lake_1024

Since the first time I read a ‘Sarah Addison Allen’ book I became an instant fan; now I pre-order her books months before their release and till now I’ve never been disappointed. Five stars all the way!

It’s not just how I feel when reading her books, it’s the mix between sadness and happiness, ordinary and extraordinary, mundane and supernatural, second chances and love-from-first-sight.

10171722_694744983898170_2664142264298527448_n

“When your cup is empty, you do not mourn what is gone. Because if you do, you will miss the opportunity to fill it again.”
― Sarah Addison Allen, Lost Lake

Sarah renews my faith in humans, happiness and most importantly love with each book, with each character, she makes me see magic in an ordinary cup of tea!

A few weeks ago, I finished reading Lost Lake, but in all honesty, it’s still within me, great books have that power to linger and grow with you, you know, just ask Bulahdeen, one of Lost Lake most interesting characters who is a true bookaholic.

“She hadn’t made friends easily, and she spent  most of her class time staring out windows, imagining herself in some far-off place. She’d gotten so good at it that she could actually turn soft to the touch and wispy like a cloud as she sat there, and it all would have taken to send her away was one good gust of air.” 
― Sarah Addison Allen, Lost Lake

10310701_694745023898166_2116433861014050502_n

Before reading the book I downloaded the e-book  Waking Kate, I read the few pages in a hurry before removing the transparent paper holding my brand new book. I think this small chapter should have been added to the book, it would have made Kate’s story even deeper to people who haven’t read it.

My Waking Kate Review:
“Everything had a presence. Even small things. Even things you took for granted.”

Waking Kate is a short teaser for Lost Lake, that talks of a moment in time that will change everything in 20 pages.

“She wasn’t sure exactly when it happened, when she had realized that she could only make one of them happy. She only knew that she had chosen him.”

Kate is stuck in a marriage she knows is bad for her; when she meets her old neighbor who is moving away on the same day they’ve met, he tells her his story and encourages her to wake up.

“Something had changed, though it wasn’t quite clear to her what it was yet.”

Now I can’t wait to start reading Lost Lake.

815oquARNaL._AA1500_

The first time I held the book in the privacy of my room, I felt magic seeping into my hands, the sun glowed and shined and I felt bewitched by it all. I think I fell for it before I even read the introduction. But after reading Eby’s love story with her husband George in Paris and how she met her best-friend Lisette I was hooked, I couldn’t put the book down or think of anything else when I wasn’t reading it.

10171081_694745117231490_2213954959417935429_n

One of the best things about great books, is when you read something that describes you, you feel a strange sense of reading a paragraph about a part of yourself in a part of your life, and the book feels even more real. Listen to this:

“She hadn’t made friends easily, and she spent most of her class time staring out windows, imagining herself in some far-off place. She’d gotten so good at it that she could actually turn soft to the touch and wispy like a cloud as she sat there, and it all would have taken to send her away was one good gust of air.”
― Sarah Addison Allen, Lost Lake

That’s me as a kid, that’s my childhood and most of my teenage years described in a classroom. It took a great teacher or a storyteller to hold my attention. So my favorite classes were literature, history, creative writing, languages and arts. My math teacher often wondered what was it like to be inside my imagination, she prided herself she had no such fanciful thinking whatsoever. I often wondered how it would be like to be so boring? I simply couldn’t imagine it.

91gBnRuoROL._SL1500_

“She understood that the hardest times in life to go through were when you were transitioning from one version of yourself to another.”
― Sarah Addison Allen, Lost Lake

Life has polished me, changed me, broke me and changed me yet again just like Kate, but still I sometimes feel like an 8-years-old girl just like Devin, especially when I’m shocked, sometimes I feel so utterly different, and yet just the same, does that make sense?

“You can’t change where you come from, but you can change where you go from here. Just like a book. If you don’t like the ending, you can make up a new one.”
― Sarah Addison Allen, Lost Lake

My Lost Lake Review:
Last night, I read the last page of Lost Lake, and it filled me with longing and melancholy. As always, I wished if the book was even longer, I wished if I was part of the story, I wished I could have those postcards and put them around my mirror.

Beyond a doubt, Sarah is my favorite author. Her books stay with me for so long, not just as stories, but the feelings they give me stays. I long to reread her books the moment I finish them.

This story is a piece of art, dear readers, don’t forget to read the short story before indulging in this book. A piece of me will always stay in Lost Lake.

1544605_681782158527786_455183357_n

Now, I believe in little boys turning into crocodiles, I believe in women who own 8 love charms, I believe in family, love and friendship even more. I loved each story, each character, the ending was amazing and as always I wanted the book to be longer. If you haven’t read it PLEASE do, if you’ve never picked an Addison book, well, you are missing a LOT! 😀

I’m just sad I never got the limited edition post cards in my hardcover 😥

Leave a Reply

