A Wake Up Call

For a year I’ve been trying to follow Kimberly Snyder’s diet and I wasn’t succeeding of embracing it fully. I felt disappointed of myself. As I go through her first book “The Beauty Detox Solution: Eat Your Way to Radiant Skin, Renewed Energy and the Body You’ve Always Wanted” my mind is collecting all these information, medical, health and stories of success and feeling shocked.

My first shock was that detoxing is truly life altering, it’s not a diet, it’s a lifestyle. My second shock was how hard for me it would be to change from my favorite dishes though Kimberly insisted throughout the book that you don’t have to if you eat wisely. My third shock was discovering how little I know about the biggest part of my life: my body.

Beauty-Detox-cover-image1

Seriously I feel illiterate when it comes to my body and that disturbed me so much. I mean yes, like “almost” everyone else around the world I took science, anatomy and so forth, but I had a hard time understanding any of it to fully take it in and remembering it.

I regret that, not understanding, not pushing my teachers for more effort, not trying to absorb information that is so important. But that’s the thing about school, they make science like a fictional subject, far away from our life, never making all of us understand it as the most important part of the human nature and life.

But as I pride myself of being a reader and a researcher, I decided to buy books, encyclopedia and educate myself about the human anatomy and so forth.

The power of our bodies shocked me, they way we destroy them without feeling or thinking about it. The way we age ourselves by eating wrong food and living our life in a worst way.

The way I lived my life, abusing my body, with wrong food combinations all the time, with a very wrong lifestyle made me flinch.

So it came up to this, my health was going downhill, I’m in the end of my twenties, my body looks and feels older and I’m continuing to behave badly.

9780373892648_TS_prd

Ramadan started and fasting killed me, not out of hunger or fatigue, but I got dry so hard, and eating rice with food made me suffer of a severe case of constipation that I cried my eyes out for almost a whole day with the horrible bangs of excruciating pain. It’s still there mildly.

So I decided to really look at myself, value my position and change. I know it’s going to be hard, but what other month of the year is better for life altering decisions than the holy month of Ramadan.

I seriously don’t want to feel the way I’ve been feeling lately. I don’t want my health to suffer. I mean I made SO many expensive tests and they all told me I’m healthy, but not in good shape. I needed to play sports regularly, eat better and lose weight.

If this is not a motivation to me, than I don’t know what is. I’m talking about my health and body and beauty here.

kimberly-snyder-beauty-detox-solution

Leave a Reply

