On Kim Kardashian’s Mind

Tonight, I was watching Keeping Up With the Kardashians and I was touched by Kim’s experience and post that I had to share it. It’s not only color that is targeted, it’s also nationality and religion, ask me! As a woman, who happens to be a Muslim and a Palestinian, I’ve seen racism in its ugliest forms. I believe that all humans, especially children should have a good life and upbringing to be free to be children, to play and have a safe home without war or hate. I say no to racism and discrimination. What do you say?

tumblr_n2stzyoDGx1rld35jo1_500

I never knew how much being a mom would change me. It’s amazing how one little person and the love I have for her has brought new meaning to every moment. What once seemed so important, now feels insignificant. It’s like I get to see the world for the first time again, but through someone else’s eyes. It’s a beautiful thing to feel and experience so much more, but with that beauty comes a flip side – seeing through my daughter’s eyes the side of life that isn’t always so pretty.

tumblr_n2stzyoDGx1rld35jo2_500

To be honest, before I had North, I never really gave racism or discrimination a lot of thought. It is obviously a topic that Kanye is passionate about, but I guess it was easier for me to believe that it was someone else’s battle. But recently, I’ve read and personally experienced some incidents that have sickened me and made me take notice. I realize that racism and discrimination are still alive, and just as hateful and deadly as they ever have been.

tumblr_n2stzyoDGx1rld35jo3_500

I feel a responsibility as a mother, a public figure, a human being, to do what I can to make sure that not only my child, but all children, don’t have to grow up in a world where they are judged by the color of their skin, or their gender, or their sexual orientation. I want my daughter growing up in a world where love for one another is the most important thing.

tumblr_n2stzyoDGx1rld35jo4_500

So the first step I’m taking is to stop pretending like this isn’t my issue or my problem, because it is, it’s everyone’s… because the California teenager who was harassed and killed by his classmates for being gay, the teenage blogger in Pakistan who was shot on her school bus for speaking out in favor of women’s rights, the boy in Florida who was wrongly accused of committing a crime and ultimately killed because of the color of his skin, they are all someone’s son and someone’s daughter and it is our responsibility to give them a voice and speak out for those who can’t and hopefully in the process, ensure that hate is something our children never have to see.

tumblr_n2stzyoDGx1rld35jo6_r1_500

3 thoughts on “On Kim Kardashian’s Mind

  1. Dana, I cannot even begin to imagine some of the horrible things you have seen. It must be a very disturbing and terrible sight to see such hate and discrimination where you are. As a black (African American) man, I too am tied to being exposed to some of the same kind of racism and discrimination. I have heard horrible stories from my grandparents of having to deal with such things back in the 50s and 60s here in the US. You probably know that many African Americans were not exactly treated well during those times. Slavery may have been abolished long before, but the inequality for my people still remains, even today. But I know that it is even harder for you, even now and my heart and prayers go out to you and all those that are treated unfairly because of your beliefs. I agree with you Dana. All people, especially children, should have the chance to be free and not have to face the evil of discrimination or racism ever. I too say NO to racism and discrimination. Beautiful post Dana.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you my dear friend. Yes, I’m aware of the this and it’s disturbing. No human should be treated differently for being different in color or religion. It’s a scary world we live in. Sometimes, movies and the news are disturbing to me measure by measure that I can’t watch no long when the reality is even more cruel than what appears to the world. I try to hold to my positivity but it’s hard at times. Especially when such hate is evident in so many people’s hearts, minds and actions. It’s scary to watch. I really want to change the world or at least the one I live in, because I no longer feel like all of us reside in the same planet. But finding a kindred spirit such as yourself across the universe with so many differences from gender, nationality, and beliefs makes me sure that there are still good people on this earth and something worth fighting for. x

      Like

      • I completely agree. It is a scary world. And looking back in history, the world was a very scary place, even then. With hate groups like the KKK over here and the Nazis over in Germany, it is hard to imagine such evil that was going on in the world. And today, I hear about the Taliban and what they have done to your people… Like you, I wish I could change the world and protect those who are innocent. And I hear what you mean about movies and the news. It’s gotten to the point where I can no longer watch. My friend and co-worker at work talk about this all the time. Even just local crimes that occur where I live are hard to hear about. The evil in people’s hearts is beyond imaginable Dana. But I agree. With people like you in the world, it keeps me from giving up on it and is always worth fighting for. Thank you for being a wonderful person. I keep you in my prayers daily.

        Like

Leave a Reply

