Those 10%

We’ve codified our existence to bring it down to human size, to make it comprehensible, we’ve created a scale so we can forget its unfathomable scale.

So a few nights ago, I was bored out of my mind, the mean-streak hit and I was on the edge of fighting with myself. So I decided to break the horrendous mood and go out, to get some fresh air or something.

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo1_500

I drove around and suddenly I was parking in Taj Mall, I walked and went to the highest floor, bought a ticket to watch a movie, any movie, because I couldn’t find anything I fancied. I ended up in a movie called “Lucy”, the newest one, and let me tell you this: other than the fact that it has an Arabic actor –Amr Waked–  and the fact that Scarlett Johansson is such a beautiful person to look at and her voice is melodic, the movie sucked. It was something between Carrie and Limitless. Which was creepy.

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo2_500

In short, Americans are crazy about the “end of the world” and death, and how they will fight them with technology. Out of the goodness of my heart, I will advice them to relax and read one of the three main religions books. Though I’m prejudiced to our Quran.

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo3_500tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo4_500

Let me tell you the end: You can’t do anything. God is there and He’s controlling everything. The date is set longer than all your technologies or your lives. There’s nothing you can do. What will happen will happen, and humans can’t be superheros, or use more than 10% of their brains or live forever, we aren’t vampires, you know. I don’t know why humans always want more. I mean we did wonders with our 10%. Isn’t that enough?

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo6_500

And one more thing, why do we have to believe of Darwin’s Theory Of Evolution? it’s just a theory! I don’t believe for one minute that we were monkeys and gorillas, on the other hand once, long ago, God was angry with Jews and He turned some of them into monkeys and pigs, but that was a really long time ago.

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo7_500tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo8_500

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for technology and moving forward and achieving more, but there is a thin line between realistic fiction and nonsense science fiction.

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo9_500

In any case, I relaxed a bit, even had a good laugh. If cinema didn’t work I would be worried, cinema always works with me. Just like tea. If you need to see the movie for yourself please do, but in my opinion there are much better movies out there suggesting the same ideas such as Limitless.

tumblr_n6wouljMNy1qcjzvuo10_500

3 thoughts on “Those 10%

  1. I agree Dana. I just don’t understand our (Americans) obsession with technology these days. Personally I hate it. I’m satisfied with what I have and don’t desire more than that. For one thing, it’s so hard to keep up with what’s new these days anyway.
    But yeah, everytime I look around, I see someone texting or talking on a phone. Worst yet, I see people doing this while they drive! Seriously, people who do that should NOT own cars, which I also hate by the way. Not a big fan of cars. I may sound weird but believe me, after nearly being hit by at least two distracted drivers in a crosswalk, you can understand my animosity.
    But yes, I totally get what you’re saying. Only God knows when the end of the world is coming and no technology is going to stop it. I read my Bible enough to know that God is real and that He is mightier than anything that man can “create”.
    He is a person, not a concept, which is how most people treat Him.
    I am terrified of death, but if God says “it’s time”, I won’t try and fight it.
    I pray to Him everyday that He forgives me for whatever wrongdoings I have commited and pray that I will be “ready” when He comes that day.
    Foolish science fiction is scary…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate technology or fiction for the that matter, but there is a fine line between fiction and ridiculous. Since the beginning of the scientific evolution, people have been experimenting with humans genes and DNA, but they only effect humans in bad ways, causing new sort of diseases and risking those people’s lives. I’m all for healing and all that, but humans aren’t made at our well and likeness like laptops, we are bodies, souls, minds, spirits and so much more. Being this complex being, it’s only God’s job to give life as He pleases, that’s what I have a problem with, their insistence on challenging God, though in our Quran there is an Ayah which means a phrase that challenges humans to create not another being but the wing of a fly. This Ayah is amazing when you think about it.

      Oh Mike, I wish to own a car, it would make my life easier but I get your point, sometimes when I’m edgy driving feels like torture.

      I will not tell you not to fear death, because it’s humans nature to fear death, but here is the difference between us and most humans, I guess that way we cause such a stir in other nations and that’s why we are misunderstood, in our religion we welcome death, we think of this life as the first short one and the second one as the long eternal one. As long as you are a good person, I think you would be welcomed home to our eternal destination. 🙂

      Like

  2. Very well stated Dana. I hear what you’re saying about technology. I don’t entirely hate it as I do use it. It’s because of technology that we are able to communicate, which is really cool. What I have a problem with is the fact that people abuse its uses and use it for the wrong reasons. Like what you were saying about altering people’s DNA in an attempt to “better” humans, only to make them worse off than before they started. As you said, we are so complex, our bodies. Our nervous systems send messages to our brains and help us perceive what we interact with in the world. Our hearts keep our blood flowing throughout our bodies, allowing us to live and allows us to feel emotions. Bones and muscles help us move, and our brains help us interpret what we see, hear, touch and so on. We are all made in such a wonderful way! I agree that only God has the right to give and create life as He is the only one that truly understands how our bodies operate. Our Bible warns us about challenging God but unfortunately there are many here that ignore this and continue to do these things.
    Could you explain more about the Ayah in your Quran? It sounds interesting.

    I hope that one day you will own a car Dana. I dislike cars because people over here are so irresponsible with them. I constantly see laws being broken and very little seems to be done about it. A lot of accidents could be avoided if people were more responsible. They are a wonderful asset to have but with it come a lot of responsibility. Perhaps one of these days I will overcome my fears and own one myself. They are probably better than public transportation 🙂

    Death is a mystery and that’s why I fear it. I think you said in another post of how fragile we are. It’s true, we are. Perhaps we could say that there should be a certain ‘respect’ for death but that we don’t have to ultimately fear it knowing that we will have a wonderful afterlife? I’m doing my best to live a good and full life before that day comes. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

