A Married Lady!

So those last few weeks were so hectic, I missed my blog so much, and I missed writing to you guys. I feel my fingers ticking rustically on my laptop, trying to regain their weightlessness splashing of words. Even my mind feels rustic.

Writing needs continues, daily practice, I think. In any case, I’m back, and I hope for the long run. As you saw in my previous post I’m officially off the market!

That’s true, I’m officially married. So many foreign friends asked me about it, you see we have stages of matrimony in the Arabic world; religiously and in the law, I’m a married woman. But until I wear that white dress and dance in my Zafeh, I’m still just engaged.

When a man wants to marry a woman, he first proposes to her, especially if they already know each other, than he brings his mom and dad for a small “Tulbeh” which means the official asking for the girl’s hand in marriage from her family. If the family agrees, a “Fataha” and a “Jaha” come next.

Which means, they read one of the parts of Quran and make their involvement and engagement public. Jaha is a huge deal, the guy brings every man he knows, from family to friends, to ask for the girl’s hand again, the importance of it lays in that every man comes to ask for her, in a way raising her value. Then the couple make an engagement party.

Next comes “Katb el Ktab” which means officially signing your wedding contract and officially being married. Before the wedding night, there’s the “Henna”, the night that the women come together to take care of the bride and put henna on, for a blessed union, the men go to a public bath and shower basically. Finally the wedding comes!

But my hubby and I made a mess of the whole thing. He did propose in the most romantic of ways, he did visit us with his mom. But afterward we messed the traditions up!

We decided to hide our engagement, than surprise our families in Eid El Adha, two weeks ago, we arranged everything, we only told them to get ready; after 4 days of crazily running around, making our papers ready (SO not romantic) and doing all the necessary things to get hitched, we finally did it! We said I do and are now planning our wedding through smart phones and Skype!

No engagement party, no henna night, no fuss! Just a small wedding for our family and close friends… In all honesty, all I think about is the wedding, the dress, the cake, the guest list, the souvenirs, the cards… Gosh! So much to do so little time!

I want to thank everyone in my family, my friends, my readers and my followers for their warm wishes and constant love. I love you!

10728915_767403369965664_327374069_n

14 thoughts on “A Married Lady!

  1. Congratulations! I wish you all the happiness in you new journey as as married lady!

    I wonder if the Henna night is where the west get’s Hen’s night from. It’s much the same, all girls together celebrating the bride, her last single days and her new lift to come, minus henna!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess so, nowadays the idea of the traditional henna night changed and became more western, but if I made one, I would’ve made it the traditional way 🙂 I still remember my aunt’s henna night, it was beautiful.

      Like

  2. Congratulations once again on getting married Dana! I wish you and yours many happy years together as well as an abundant life.
    Thanks for telling us how your marriage traditions work in your country. I agree with Natjtan. It does sound similar to our western ways of marriage. Henna sounds similar to the bachelorette parties women have before they get married.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much Dana! I truly feel honored in hearing that you would want me at your wedding! I wish I could be there as well. I would wear my best suit! While I may not be able to attend your wedding physically, as your friend, you have my support and prayers so it will be like I am there at heart. 🙂 You’ve supported me many times and now I wish to support you. I will be praying for your happiness.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much Dana! I feel so honored in hearing that you would want me at your wedding! I wish I could be there also! I would wear my best suit! While I may not be able to attend physically, as your friend, you have my support and I will be praying for you on your special day. It will be like I am there in heart. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry for the multiple messages. My first reply looked like it didn’t go through so I tried to retype it but both basically say the same thing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Dana. Having trouble with my Internet as sometimes it will go out before I can send a message. Very strange…
        Anyway, I would love to receive your wedding card! I left my mailing address in your Facebook instant message box. When I receive it, I will put it with all my other treasures that I keep. 🙂
        I’m glad that we are friends too. You have helped me out so much. Thank you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

