Sauceless Pasta

Lately, I’ve been getting a lot of requests for my recipes, and as I like to share, I decided to write them down here in my blog for help and inspiration. I’m not a chef, but I’m a food lover and an experimental cook.

I decided to start from the last requested dish and go forth from there.

My latest creation is a healthy, light pasta, that I would call the “Sauceless Pasta”.

What you need to make this simple creation is:

  • 5 medium size zucchinis
  • 1 large onion
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 4 pieces of chicken breasts
  • Conchiglie pasta (that look like shells or seashells, of course you can pick any other shape)
  • chicken spice

Here is how you do it.

To work quickly and efficiently I don’t wait to jump from one task to the next, I work in multiple things at once. If you already have your chicken in the fridge, take them out to melt nicely in the sink, if you are going to cut them yourself, put them in a lukewarm water with one lemon sliced into circular shapes, until chicken melts, which would approximately take about 30 minutes or more. If you are starving and can’t wait to cook and eat, and your chicken breast are already cleaned and frozen from the store, you can melt them for 4-5 minutes in the microwave.

1487318_781960245176643_6623792842101702559_n

next step is the pasta. Put a medium size pot pan and fill it with water but of course not to the top but a large spoon not like a mountain though but a nice dose of olive oil and salt (I use my fingers because I’m used to cooking) wait until the water is boiling (don’t cover it unless you are seriously in a hurry) than drop your pasta to simmer.

While the water is boiling, cut your onion into a nice even small-sized slices of rectangles (be careful and tuck your fingers), set it aside. than after carefully cleaning your zucchinis, cut the top and bottom than slice it into four long pieces and collect them in one group and cut into little circles of triangles, also but aside. Now your cut your chicken breasts, each breast is cut first in a long line in the middle than into an even group of squares.

Now, put a generous (not too much though) amount of olive oil into a frying pan and add the cut onions after two minutes (don’t burn your onions, you will destroy the flavor), add a small spoon of salt, half a spoon of black pepper (more if desired) and a small spoon of chicken spices (found in any shop in the spices section), move the onions and spices around until they turn pink, add the cut zucchinis, move them around until you smell a beautiful aroma.

Meanwhile, I’m sure your pot of pasta is boiling. Turn the heat off, and bring a ladle with holes in it and move your pasta one group at a time into your serving dish, you don’t want your pasta to break and be too soft.

1501669_781963441842990_4710100717562209775_n

Add the beautifully cut chicken breasts to the frying pan mix, but first check if there’s any olive oil left, if not add more, only a bit, move things around, than after the mix looks and smells cooked, bright and fresh, take a tasting bite of your chicken, if it needs more spices now is a good time.

Move the mix for another two minutes until the zucchinis and breasts look tender and cooked (zucchinis not over cooked of course), than add the mix to the pasta, mix them all together well, and serve while hot if desired, it will taste good cold as well. It will serve many dishes, good for at least 4 people.

Hope you enjoy it!

Bon Appétit
صحة وهنا

6 thoughts on “Sauceless Pasta

  1. Pingback: Suha’s Healing Soup | Dana's Sanctuary

  2. Wow, thanks for sharing this Dana! I am seriously thinking of trying your recipe here. The ingredients are easy enough to get from the market and though I’m not a chef, I can follow instructions and you make them simple and easy to follow. Next time I go shopping, I’ll make a list of all your ingredients, get them and try this out for myself! I’ll let you know how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I will surly share with you on how it turns out after I prepared it and tasted it. 🙂 It will probably not be as good as yours but I’ll do my best!
        Yes, you made them very easy to follow. I can’t wait to try it. It will be a while. It’s not pay week for me… :/

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m feeling very excited Dana. I will finally be able to get all the ingredients for your recipe that you mentioned above. I have been waiting a long time to try. Had a bit of money trouble for a while so I wasn’t able to get everything right away but now I can’t wait to try it! I’m no chef but lately, I’ve been putting together some little meals that I can be proud of and am willing to try yours now. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

