Egg Muffins

Another recipe I’ve been asked to give is my egg muffins or cupcakes, at least that’s what I call them, they are delicious to have in breakfast or dinner. They could be eaten warm or cold. And you can use all your vegetables pantry in it.

So let’s start with what I used:

  • Obviously eggs, around 8
  • salty butter
  • fresh mushrooms (its their season now)
  • tomatoes
  • cheddar cheese
  • Canned Beef Luncheon Meat, I chose unum
  • Muffin & Cupcake Pans
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • mixing bowl
  • mixing spoon
  • butter applying brush
  • small frying pan
  • egg mixer
  • cheese cutter

Now that you have everything you need, let’s begin!

First thing, cut a square of butter into the frying pan and place on a low heat fire, move around with your spoon, finger tip or with the frying pan itself until it melts completely and forms something like oil.

10252156_781288528577148_4884879791302308871_n

Leave it to cool down a bit. (Don’t forget to turn the oven off!)

Now break your eggs in the mixing bowl, with a splash of salt and pepper and use your arm with an egg mixer to whisk those eggs. On the other hand, wash your mushrooms and tomatoes gently, leave them on a towel to dry than cut them into thin lines carefully, they are not easy to manage. Don’t destroy their beautiful shape though.

Into separate groups use the cheese cutter for both the cheddar and meat for a small amount of perfectly thin lines. Add them into the mix one group at a time and keep moving slowly with your mixing spoon. Now you will have something resembling an omelet mix. If you feel that the eggs are outnumbered add another. Now take a sniff (you can’t taste it yet) if desired add more spices.

644367_781303818575619_7316696827523262477_n

Now using your butter brush, dip your brush in the pan and apply the butter into all the muffin pan cups one by one until it all glows.

Now using a spoon put a filling amount of your mix into each cup. Turn your oven on inside on the lower burner and put your pan. Leave the muffins for at least 30 minutes on medium heat.

To make sure they are ready, you can try two methods:

  1. put on your mitts and shake the pan gently, if they muffins still shake, they need more time or heat.
  2. use a wooden food/teeth pick and dip in the middle of the muffin if it comes out wet, they are not ready.

10483133_781306365242031_1076235390377462658_n

When they come out, use a food spoon and circulate around them from the inside and gently pluck them into a ready serving dish. Enjoy with company! x

Bon Appétit
صحة وعافية

6 thoughts on “Egg Muffins

  1. Another awesome recipe here Dana. 🙂 I will keep this one in mind too. One question. One of your ingredients calls for Canned Beef Luncheon Meat. Is that anything like canned Spam? Can I use that? We also have a canned lunch meat called Treat, which is sort of like Spam but smoother with less fat (I think). So will any kind of canned lunchmeat do or does it have to be a certain kind?
    I admit that I sometimes get these “bad for you” kind of canned foods but when that’s all you have to eat sometimes, you do what you gotta do to make it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You can use whatever you want, all canned meat is the same, unum is a local brand 🙂 I know what you mean, canned food is frowned upon, but when you work with a low salary, long hours and also try entering a hard diet to lose weight, sometimes you just need to eat and make preparing food easier for yourself 😀 trying is a start. x

      Like

      • Tell me about it Dana. Due to attrition in both our workforce and financial matters at my job, money for me is very slim picking right now. Like canned meat, frozen dinners are also frowned upon when trying to maintain a healthy diet but the cost of health food has gone up. But yep, sometimes a simpler “meal” is all you can do. I’m so tired at the end of my work day, it’s all I can do to just prepare a microwave meal. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I just prepared the egg muffins based off of your recipe Dana. They came out pretty good! I tasted one and the flavor is phenomenal! The only thing I did different from you was with the canned meat. I didn’t have Unum so I used what I did have, which is a mixture of both Spam and Treat (similar to Spam) in my mixture. I figured that canned meat is all the same, more or less. But still, these came out great! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I’ll send you a pic of my muffins.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

