The Lamb Shell Pasta

As the snow was falling, and I became more and more restless, I needed to move and get some heat. I spent most of this forced holiday in bed, with 3 bed covers, books and huge mugs of green tea and Yemeni honey. I simply needed to move and eat something healthy. So as the snowstorm subsided I cooked everyday.

The first recipe I was asked for is another pasta experiment. Pasta is my thing. I love anything with pasta, and I love trying new recipes or creating some. Making pasta makes me happy. So let’s call this dish “The Lamb Shell Pasta”.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 large onion
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • meat spices
  • 1/2 or 1 kilo of boneless australian lamb meat (at least that’s what I use, you can use any other kind that you prefer)
  • Conchiglie pasta (that look like shells or seashells, of course you can pick any other shape)
  • a handful of green beans
  • canned or fresh mushrooms
  • a jar of pasta tomato sauce, I have a few favorites, for this dish I picked the Classico di Toscana one

10904374_814061875299813_1937686975_n

Here is how you do it.

To work quickly and efficiently I don’t wait to jump from one task to the next, I work in multiple things at once. If you already have your meat in the fridge, take them out to melt nicely in the sink or you can melt them for 3-4 minutes in the microwave.

Next step is the pasta. Put a medium size pot pan and fill it with water but of course not to the max; put a large spoon (not like a mountain though, I use my fingers because I’m used to cooking and measurement) of salt and some olive oil.  wait until the water is boiling (don’t cover it unless you are seriously in a hurry) than drop your pasta to simmer.

While the water is boiling, cut your onion into a nice even small-sized slices of rectangles (be careful and tuck your fingers), set it in a huge pan with olive oil, add your spices (salt, pepper, meat spices) when the onions look lightly golden add your mushrooms, than add your green beans (which you have cleaned cut and readied) same goes to your piece of meat, after everything is kind of cooked, add your meat, if necessary add more oil and spice. At this stage I lower the heat and add a pot cover so the meat and vegetables would simmer.

Meanwhile, I’m sure your pot of pasta is boiling. Turn the heat off, and bring a ladle with holes in it and move your pasta one group at a time into your serving dish, you don’t want your pasta to break and be too soft.

10912937_814061898633144_977299620_n

You have two choices, if you are not a sauce person, don’t add the tomato sauce, because the mix in itself is delicious and serve; if however you want to try it my way, please continue.

After the pasta is ready add the mix of meat, green beans, onions and mushroom with the oil to the pasta, add the tomato sauce as well, and mix until you feel that the whole pot is evenly “sauced”. If necessary add some pasta water to the dish before it goes to the oven.

The serving dish I use is also a cooking dish, so if you don’t have something like it, you need an oven pan. I close it and put it inside the oven for 40-45 minutes around 180 degrees of heat. Keep on checking if everything is alright. After it’s done you can leave it a bit more if you want the sauce to be thick or dry, if not just serve it a bit juicy.

10917617_814061881966479_1563107114_n

Hope you enjoy it!

Bon Appétit
صحة وهنا

5 thoughts on “The Lamb Shell Pasta

  1. This looks very good Dana. I don’t know if I would be able to prepare it though as I’m not that good at cooking. I still must try your previous dishes first. I haven’t been able to gather the ingredients for them yet. I’ll let you know when I do. I appreciate you sharing your healthy recipes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Dana. As we are well into 2015 now, I am wanting to improve my diet and eat healthier. I have a good start but will have to learn to cook if I wish to continue! I can think of cooking as another type of art; it gets better the more I do it. 😀
        And I’m glad to hear that you are happy about my friend joining your blog! She is really nice and enjoys cooking like you do. 🙂 We often talk about things we like to eat. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

