A Masterpiece

Today is Friday, one month since I moved from Amman, and today I can say that I’m getting comfortable and friendly with my new surroundings; I made peace with Kuwait. I feel better, more relaxed and easy about the sudden change. I can say that Kuwait is growing on me.

I don’t have a routine yet, but I’m enjoying the surprises more than I thought I would. Of course all of that is because of my loving husband Hamad, who made me feel safe and happy. Honey, I know you are going to read this, so I just want to say “I love you. You are the best.”

On other fields, I’m still a bookaholic so the first thing I complained about is the bookstores, or lack of rather; but because Hamad is my best friend as well as my husband, he searched with me until we found the best stores, and in this short time I became a client. I’m building a shelf in our hotel room until we move to our house and until I ship my luggage here.

The only book I actually had in my bag is the book I was reading at the time “The Goldfinch” by Donna Tartt, which I regret at the moment because I’m not enjoying it one bit. I think I have a thing with best sellers: I hate them.

The books I love and enjoy are random at best, they don’t have to be on New York best selling books, or a “must read” for the rest of the world. I find “must-reads” exhausting.

I reached chapter 6, and in a book this big it’s a huge deed indeed, but the shitty part is that I’m not liking it. With all the amazing reviews and awards, I thought I’m going to enjoy every word. But my feelings so far is: “Can this torture end? And when is the good part coming?” I hope it gets better, somehow.

So I simply had to stock up and buy new books. I bought some books for some of my favorite authors, new ones and I have to admit an oldie or two, to reread (Psst: don’t tell Hamad!)

I do most of my reading on the beach now, which is phenomenal. We don’t have a beach in Amman, sadly though, the last two days have been freezing and unpredictable.

My other news are that I’m working out again, trying to lose weight, I’m also returning to writing my masterpiece, I hope it’s my masterpiece… maybe just a novel. Thinking of it as a “masterpiece” is terrifying, I prefer to think of my novel as just a book.

I want to write about other things, like some of the events I attended here, but I’m writing this post on a hurry. I will take my time tomorrow and give you some juicy stuff.

Sleep tight readers! Much love! x

10981748_829427913763209_510441390776289926_n

3 thoughts on “A Masterpiece

  1. I am happy to hear that you are getting the feel of Kuwait Dana. I figured that it would take some time before you got used to your new surroundings. I am happy to hear this. I’m glad to also hear that you found some good bookstores. They seem to be hard to come by, at least over here. I must admit that I haven’t bought a book in a long time. I’m a big time borrower from the library though and am always checking out the new items that come. Some I get to see before our customers do!
    I hear you about the so-called “best sellers” that are out there. I don’t follow all that crap. I read what I want to read when I want to read it. It doesn’t have to be a best seller for me to like it. It just has to be good! I’m currently attempting to read a 7 book series called Septimus Heap, which is supposed to be like the Harry Potter series (that of which I have never read). And while the story isn’t all that interesting to me (okay, a little), I was drawn to the books because of their size, all of which are over 500 pages. Ever since I was little, I’ve always been intrigued by big books and have always wanted to finish one. And here, 20 something years later, I’m still wanting to do it! Wish me luck!

    And I’m still trying to lose weight myself and keep up with my workouts. It’s difficult but I’m sticking to it. Good luck with your goal Dana. 🙂

    Best wishes to you and Hamad in your new place! Praying for you both. Let me know when you get your first book published. I’ll buy a copy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Septimus Heap! I know this series! I read the first book a while ago and got a first edition, hardcover with a tiny CD, totally loved it. I love libraries, but in the Arabic world, books aren’t loved much, so what you find are always a group of old smelly books. Which is okay for a start, but when you get serious about reading, you want more variations, genres and new books.

      If I get published I will send you a book 🙂 no worries! Good luck with your goal as well, we can support each other 😉

      Like

  2. Oh wow! You know about this series Dana?! That’s pretty awesome as most people that I mentioned it too had no idea what I was talking about, or thought that I was talking about Harry Potter. The books have been sitting on our shelves forever and I kept walking by them until I finally decided to pick them up as they intrigued me.
    The beginning is a little slow but I’m sure that it will pick up soon. It’s hard to keep up with all the characters’ names but I’m starting to understand their personalities a little better the more I read. I just wish I had more time to read!
    I’m all for keeping good books “alive” in our library system. How it works here is that if after 2 years, if books are not circulating among our customers or if the circulation is very low (like only one person checks it out within two years), they get rejected and taken off our shelves. 😦 I hate to see that happen so I’ve sort of made it my “mission” to keep books on the shelves for as long as possible by checking them out to myself. 🙂
    I can’t read them all, but I try to!
    But this is encouraging to hear! If you love this series, it motivates me even more to want to read it now!
    And I agree about wanting all sorts of variations and genres of books, being a serious reader myself. 🙂 I read all kinds, both fiction and non fiction. You can learn so much from both!

    That would be great! Thanks! I would love to read your book once you get it published!
    And thank you. I will do my best. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

