Starbucks: The Green Mermaid

“Pretty quickly, I stopped seeing the company as an engine of community. Instead, I saw it as a myth-maker offering only an illusion of belonging and meeting its customers’ desire for connections in form, maybe, but surely not in substance. Once I came to this conclusion, I started to dig deeper into the company’s other promises–great working conditions, musical discovery, fair treatment of farmer, and concern for the environment. Every time I went excavating, the stories turned out to be more complex, more heavily edited, and more ambiguous than I had first thought. Each time, it became clear that Starbucks fulfilled its many promises only in the thinnest, most transitory of ways and that people’s desires went largely unfulfilled.”
― Bryant Simon, Everything but the Coffee: Learning about America from Starbucks

You might not know that but Starbucks is one of the most quickly spreading coffee houses in the Arabic world and most hated in the Middle East. I had to specify the term “Middle East” and not add the Gulf for example because it’s well-loved in Kuwait where I moved a few months ago.

10172813_686893994683269_8711720881744450065_n

Since the moment Starbucks opened its first branch in Amman and all I heard was horrendous stories, some I believed other were just shocking and sometimes outrageous. Some were political others were religious… all because of the green mermaid in the logo.

10154087_686894271349908_1030891062272441451_n

I know she’s not a mermaid, I Google-d the history of the industry, but I chose this term because the first time I saw it I thought it was a mermaid.

1888501_686897898016212_8060286951081436412_n

You might ask yourself why would Arabs hate/boycott Starbucks while it’s just a brand for a cafe? Some people might think it’s because it’s American, here you would be wrong. Jordanians don’t have problems with the USA. It’s more of the owner’s origin and the logo’s story: Jewish.

1656318_686895518016450_5287495680836412884_n

As a religion I’m not prejudice against any religion like most of the world, but as a Palestinian and an Arab we have a huge issue with the Zionist entity and it’s daily and historical effect in our lives.

10245337_686895791349756_3374488564924170665_n

People don’t view Starbucks as a harmless foreign brand but they view it as a colonial county. They feel that if they bought that cup of coffee from the coffee shop they would buy their enemy money to get stronger. I understand that completely, especially with their policy of never refusing to hire people, if they are over staffed they open a new branch in such case moving the economy and helping people with jobs, which means a conflict of interests.

10171025_686895371349798_6496508731069325917_n

Before the last and longer boycotting period hit Jordan after all that has been going on in the Middle East, Starbucks decided to redecorate. Stating that the shop is getting old, neglected and old-fashioned. I’m sure without seeing their accounts that there has been a drop in their sales.

10256512_686895084683160_8193320038221453486_n

The decor in all honesty shocked me a bit. It changed from the cool American style with comfy couches to a total oriental themed setting. My brother and I had to check it out, the change was very deliberate, but seriously beautiful.

10152390_686894861349849_3315121764091005316_n

To tell you the truth it was gorgeous, not comfortable (but I guess that’s the point) but very nice. You see the younger crowd doesn’t believe in boycotting, they used to think of Starbucks as a place to cram for exams, free WiFi and one cup of coffee for the whole day kind of deal. With the new decor the largest crowd begin to search for other spots to get comfortable.

10250098_686894418016560_3615557659299399261_n

In any case, are you with Boycotting products/brands according to their owners belief or nationality? I sometimes find it racist especially with how we are being treated, but I totally understand it. What do you think? Coffee VS politics?

155817_686899138016088_5865957180430555613_n

9 thoughts on “Starbucks: The Green Mermaid

  1. This is very interesting. I did not realize that Starbucks had such a complex origin. To be brief, I would have to say that I’m not against buying products because the owner or owners are of a certain religion or background. I am Christian but I respect all religious beliefs, even try to learn about them so that I can understand them better. No, I wouldn’t support a company however if the owner did something to me personally, like say, curse at me or use a racial slur, something that would really upset me I guess. Someone like that doesn’t deserve my business.
    I would say more but I’m in my sick bed trying to type this out on my tablet. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohh I hope you feel better soon, and you can come whenever and add more thoughts. My hubby and I had the flu for a few weeks. It’s everywhere!

      When you go in to get a product, whither from a well-known brand or a small shop, I think everything you pick is related to your beliefs and needs. Mostly in an unconscious way. But with war all around us for years, politics and regions is very crucial in the process of buying a product.

      Like

      • Thanks Dana. Finally feeling more normal after being sick for nearly 5 days in a row.
        I was able to finally return to work yesterday.
        Still not 100% but better than I was a few days ago. Sorry to hear that you and your husband had that nasty flu as well. It’s everywhere here too. People getting it left and right!
        Having thought about this some more, I actually do have a little more to add. I think you’re right in that everything that we buy is related to our beliefs and needs. Like you said, it’s mostly unconscious, but some things that really stick out, you are aware of. Like for me personally, I will more than likely purchase a product if I know that the money I spend is going toward a good cause, like a charity rather than putting more money into the hands of people who are already rich. Having certain beliefs and limits as to what we buy and what we don’t buy I think also helps us avoid over consumption, buying just what we need to live and not just buying things just to be buying them. I often think about where my money is going when I buy something and will sometimes put something back if I think that it’s going to be wasted in some way. A very thought provoking concept here. I had to really think about this one. Great for discussing!

        Like

  2. I have an issue with designers who use fur. I won’t buy their sunglasses, bag, as I feel the money will go towards the fur farming somehow. I’m exactly the same with skincare and cosmetics. Just because now the EU has banned cosmetic testing on animals, the brand (I’oreal for example) can still test the products in other countries.

    As for Starbucks, here in Barcelona, they’re changing some interiors too much like the one you visited. As for their coffee, one tall is 3 of my usual cups!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love how our beliefs and backgrounds effect the market and trends. Each of us uses their money as they see fit based on their principles. I think it’s so beautiful to have such diversity.

      Each fall I can’t NOT get a hot pumpkin Halloween-y cup from Starbucks. It’s my favorite. Fall tastes like Starbucks to me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

