Graffiti from Amman to Kuwait

Since I was raised in an artistic house, with a talented mother, I always looked for art in everything from books, music to raindrops and galleries, and for some years I started looking for street art. I find it so raw and honest, expressing the youth of the society they decorate for, for free.

“People say graffiti is ugly, irresponsible and childish… but that’s only if it’s done properly.” ― Banksy, Wall and Piece

I know graffiti is considered vandalism and a kind of art of lower value, but I don’t see it this way. I love how an old building, a bridge, a road sign could change from an old or boring sight to something spectacular by an anonymous artist.

“Graffiti is one of the few tools you have if you have almost nothing. And even if you don’t come up with a picture to cure world poverty you can make someone smile while they’re having a piss.” ― Banksy, Banging Your Head Against a Brick Wall

So I’m always in the hunt, it could be a print, a calligraphy, a sign, a whole wall of expressive art… absolutely anything; I found amazing things in Amman, Beirut, Cairo, and lately Kuwait. Sadly, I lost most of my photos in a hard drive crash circa 2015!

“I spray the sky fast. Eyes ahead and behind. Looking for cops. Looking for anyone I don’t want to be here. Paint sails and the things that kick in my head scream from can to brick. See this, see this. See me emptied onto a wall.” ― Cath Crowley, Graffiti Moon

I wanted to share in this post my appreciation for these individuals… I love what you’re doing! Color all those concrete gray streets and evade cops… you’re making history, they just don’t see it yet.

“Art is an evolutionary act. The shape of art and its role in society is constantly changing. At no point is art static. There are no rules.” ― Raymond Salvatore Harmon, BOMB: A Manifesto of Art Terrorism

If you know any location that has some interesting art I would love to see it for myself, even if it’s around the world, I will add it to my list, so please share your favorites. x

“Some people become cops because they want to make the world a better place. Some people become vandals because they want to make the world a better looking place.” ― Banksy, Wall and Piece

P.S. Of course, most of the best photos of me are taken by my handsome talented husband who loves me so much he indulges all my obsessions…. I LOVE you baby! So this post ends and begins with you.

“I like that about art, that what you see is sometimes more about who you are than what’s on the wall.” ― Cath Crowley, Graffiti Moon

16 thoughts on “Graffiti from Amman to Kuwait

  1. Wow! These are fantastic Dana! And I agree. Graffiti art can be very beautiful (and colorful!) when done correctly. My co-worker and friend often walks with me during our lunch break and we see all sorts of art and beauty (including graffiti) around our beautiful city of Akron. People often hate on our city because they think it’s borking. But they don’t see what we see; art. From something as small as a colorful flower pedal to something as huge as a wall mural, beauty is all over our city. I would love to show you some of the things that we see on our walks. 🙂 I’ll be looking and snapping pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are so gorgeous! I agree with you about graffiti being another form of art. Graffiti is more about freedom and I rhink trying not to get caught has a bit of a thrill to it too! I’ve loved to travel in the car and see bridges and trains just decked out in the pieces. They all have a story to tell! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

