Visit Kuwait

On a softer note, after the heavy subject of the last post, I would like to talk about the new country I live in now.

Kuwait is so different from Amman in as many ways as possible… I’m not even talking about the weather! I’m talking about the buildings, the color of stones, the way the sun and the moon are so close and large! The weird U-turns and street and parking signs, the lights, and of course the sea, the heat, the people, the fashion, the nationalities, the radio, the number of accidents, the number of cars, the makeup, the style of entertainment, the decoration at homes, the different flavor of food, spices and onions, the small cooking pans, the smell of the city, the pulse of the streets, the early hour of dawn, the tiny apartments, the language barrier when ordering food or meeting a new person, the art, the ads, the music, the cats… everything.

But I’m falling in love with this country, I do miss home, and Amman will always, always be home, but I can’t deny how much my feelings have changed in the last few months.

Kuwait is not beautiful… it’s striking, you know what I mean? But once you know your way around, you know how to order your food, and know where to get things, and meet warm friends, you feel it could be beautiful.

In the next few months Kuwait’s weather will be amazing, more like spring than autumn or winter… perfect for tourists to enjoy their time exploring on foot like I did when I arrived here.

Amman is different, it’s beautiful, historic, and with so much diversity… but here the diversity lays on where to go and what to do and most importantly with whom, it’s like a scavenger hunt! Both countries are family oriented but they’re still different even in that sense.

It’s like figs and pepper… but they blend well together.

12003308_930909956948337_7392985955358808527_n

5 thoughts on “Visit Kuwait

  1. I am glad to hear that you are beginning to love Kuwait the more that you experience it Dana. Amman will always be your home, but Kuwait is your second home now. I guess it takes a while for us to get used to new surroundings and become comfortable with those surroundings. I continue to keep you and Hamad in my prayers and that all that is good for you will come to you. 🙂 Stay encouraged!

    By the way, I’m doing well with my Arabic lessons. I’m able to say basic phrases with a fair amount of ease. This is very exciting for me! I’ll keep going! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Mike! I’m sorry for being so distant lately, but a lot has happened that I barely had a moment to think clearly… you’re always in my prayers as well. I’m glad you’re enjoying Arabic 😀 it’s such a beautiful and rich language 🙂

      Like

      • Hi Dana! So wonderful to hear from you! 🙂

        It’s perfectly alright. So much has happened to me over the last few weeks as well.
        My mind feels like a jumble of thoughts as I’m trying to keep everything straight and keep up with
        all of my work.

        And thank you. I am always honored to know that I am in your prayers. 🙂

        Yes, your language is very beautiful and I am happy to be learning it. I’m still learning the basics
        but I’m further along now than I was when I started! I’ll keep going!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

