Jambalaya

I made this dish yesterday and was asked by some friends to share it, and as I have not been active in this blog, I decided to add the recipe here. This lightly spiced Cajun rice dish originated in Louisiana in USA. I love the sense of colorful magic in the Cajun cuisine. I got this recipe that I enhanced from a DK book titled “The Cookbook for Girls“.

Ingredients:

  • 5ml (1 tsp) sunflower oil
  • 100g (3 1/2 oz) chorizo sausage, skin removed and chopped (I used Pınar Turkey Sausage)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 skinless chicken breasts, cubed (I used 2)
  • 225g (8oz) easy cook long grain rice (I used to full cups of basmati rice)
  • 400g (14oz) can chopped tomatoes (don’t throw the sauce!)
  • 450g (3/4pt) hot chicken stock (I used one cube of Maggi chicken stock in a small pan to cover the rice by an inch)
  • 5ml (1 tsp) dried mixed herbs (they don’t have any here in Kuwait, so I made my own mix of basil, rosemary and oregano)
  • 1 red and 1 green peppers, deseeded and cubed
  • 50g (2oz) frozen peas
  • 6 spring onions, chopped (I used 3 huge ones)

Cooking:

  1. put your rice in a cool water for it to soak, while you start cooking. Get your chicken breasts, sausage and peas out of the fridge so you can cook.
  2. heat the oil in a large pan. Add your onions with a splash of salt, pepper and paprika, and some Cajun spice. than add your sausages to cook for about 3 minutes until your sausages start releasing their flavor into your onions.
  3. add the chicken and cook for 3 to 4 minutes until lightly browned on all sides. (what I do is, I add my chicken and mix all the pan ingredients well, than turn the heat law and start cooking them slowly with the foil on so they can cook well and go tender.
  4. When they are ready, I add the rice and mix it well with the rest of the ingredients. Than my Maggi stock water will be boiling so I take it and cover the rice, don’t add so much!
  5. Add the tomatoes, and herbs with the stock as well, cover and simmer for 15 minutes, while stirring occasionally.
  6. add your chopped peppers and spring onions, and frozen peas, cover and cook for further 10 minutes, until the rice is tender and most of liquid has been absorbed.
  7. for a spicier taste add 1 tsp of hot chili powder or a dash of tabasco sauce.

    10151325_1017098694996129_5968936251555646207_n

    bon appétit

One thought on “Jambalaya

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe Dana. I saw that you posted this dish on Facebook yesterday and it looked so good that I wanted to try it.
    And it’s funny because I was looking through your blog the other day and I saw that I tried both your lemon salmon and egg muffin recipes (both came out great!) and I was looking to try another one. I decided on your sauceless pasta one next and I just gathered all of the ingredients for it when I was at the supermarket yesterday. But the next time that I go, I’m going to gather the ingredients for your Jambalaya!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

