Farewell Shelfari

The first time I heard of Shelfari was in 2007 when my dad invited me to join this page of book lovers. I wasn’t sure about joining at first but I got an active account and as Shelfari tells me, I’ve been aย member since June 17, 2008.

Screenshot_643

8 years. That’s a long time, and now in 2016, we the members of this amazing site, have to say goodbye. Because Amazon bought both Shelfari and Goodreads and lost around a million dollar investment in the site, so they decided to kill it because no profit is coming their way. At least, we’ll have Goodreads.

Screenshot_648

I will miss this site more than I would like to admit. I open many tabs first thing in the morning and one of them (always) has been Shelfari. Today I read, is the last day of this site on the internet. I’ll miss those brown shelves. I’m opening it all day long until it goes off.

Screenshot_649

13 thoughts on “Farewell Shelfari

  1. This is the probably the first post that I’ve read on here that makes me sort of sad. I still can’t believe that Shelfari will be no more after today. I think I first joined the site around 2008 too as a co-worker at the library where I worked, introduced me to it. And not being much for social media, I wasn’t sure that I would use it much. But soon, I became addicted to it and would go on there all the time to add new books that I would find while working. And I was so happy because it really felt like it was “my site” and I could better relate to it than sites like Myspace or Facebook.

    It was a wonderful way to keep track of one’s books and what you have read over time. I also liked that you could create your own groups and in a way, it sort of felt like having your own blog (this was before I knew what blogs were).
    But I think the best part about it was all of the wonderful people that I met on there (including you Dana!) and the many friends that I made because of that site. It was just the site to be on.

    And I admit that I have SERIOUSLY been neglecting it lately because I’ve been so busy. I feel terrible about it and wish that I had more time to spend on there.
    I’m going to open my page up as well to take one last look at it before it’s gone. Sigh… just another one of those things in life I have to say goodbye to…

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh Mike, I’m sorry I made you feel sad, but I’m really sad about it, even my husband is sympathetic and he isn’t a member… everything comes to an end I suppose but still, this will be hard like addiction withdrawal.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no Dana, you didn’t make me feel sad, really. I only meant that I’m sad because Shelfari is closing its doors on us. I think we can all relate to that feeling of losing something that was special. I can’t help but think how different my life would have been if I had never heard of it. It was sort of a gateway to the outside world for me and really helped introduce me to people of other cultures. To me, it was more than just your average social media site. It’s like saying goodbye to an old friend. But on the other hand, the closing of Shelfari has introduced me to Goodreads. And I’m sure to have a great time and meet great people on there just like I did on Shelfari.
        I’ve had so many changes happen in my life the last several years, one of the biggest was moving out of our old home and into our apartment. I still feel sad about that too at times. But with each change, I feel a little bit stronger, a little bit braver, no matter how big or small that change is. I guess it’s sort of a reminder to us all that life is always changing and we must change along with it. I think it helps keep things exiting and invigorating, even those things that make us sad.
        So no, I appreciate your post here today about this. I have so much going on that I forgot all about this happening. I am just glad that I saw it when I did. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Hope to see you over on Goodreads!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwww, I know how you feel!! I made mine in 2011 literally a week after I got my Kindle. I understand your love for the site! I was somewhat obsessed with it too!

    I recently made my Goodreads account after they made the announcement on the site. I still prefer Shelfari though! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

