Project: Acrylic Painting

﴿ اللَّهُ نُورُ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالْأَرْضِ مَثَلُ نُورِهِ كَمِشْكَاةٍ فِيهَا مِصْبَاحٌ الْمِصْبَاحُ فِي زُجَاجَةٍ الزُّجَاجَةُ كَأَنَّهَا كَوْكَبٌ دُرِّيٌّ يُوقَدُ مِنْ شَجَرَةٍ مُبَارَكَةٍ زَيْتُونَةٍ لَا شَرْقِيَّةٍ وَلَا غَرْبِيَّةٍ يَكَادُ زَيْتُهَا يُضِيءُ وَلَوْ لَمْ تَمْسَسْهُ نَارٌ نُورٌ عَلَى نُورٍ يَهْدِي اللَّهُ لِنُورِهِ مَنْ يَشَاءُ وَيَضْرِبُ اللَّهُ الْأَمْثَالَ لِلنَّاسِ وَاللَّهُ بِكُلِّ شَيْءٍ عَلِيمٌ ﴾

[ سورة النور:35]

Since we moved into our new house, we’ve been looking for a phrase of Quran to put in our house for blessing and protection but nothing is very pretty here. In Amman many merchants bring seasonal art in Ramadan for example that are quite beautiful. In my last visit home I actually brought two works but when we reached home we discovered that both pieces were broken beyond repair in the airplane luggage.

12974403_1041538899218775_5855917196465502646_n

We wanted something but everything we saw was a cliché or brown and depressing. To me God’s words are beautiful, and should be colorful and happy, after all he created this world with so much colors. So I looked for a calligraphy of a phrase in Quran that says: “Allah is the light of heaven and earth” and I started working on it.

13051527_1047089581997040_7657952671969935045_n

I was a bit worried about working with acrylic since the last time I worked with it was in art school but I enjoyed the process so much and even the mistakes were starting to look intentional. I wanted to ornament it more but suddenly I was terrified that the last layer of orange was too much. In the morning when I looked at it I found myself smiling.

Hamad thinks it needs more work; I might apply another coat but I feel it doesn’t need anything more. I wanted a vibrant piece to hang on the wall and I guess I delivered but now I’m obsessed with the feeling. I bought more canvas and paint. I plan on working on more typography pieces.

13082594_1047113165328015_4853953976401271138_n

What do you think? I’m not a professional artist but I think it’s beautiful.

4 thoughts on “Project: Acrylic Painting

  1. Dana, this is simply gorgeous, really. I always knew that you were a talented artist when I first saw your work a while back when you posted it on Facebook.
    I love the colors! And you know, the colors that you used work really well together. In art, orange is considered a secondary color because it is formed from two primary colors (red and yellow). Green is also a secondary color, formed from blue and yellow. And often times, placing a primary color against, or next to a secondary color will make both colors stand out more than if they stood alone. I don’t know the science behind, it but after viewing many works of art at our local art museum here in Akron, I sort of developed a good eye for how color works and this is one of those ways. Another good way to use color is to place two colors that are opposite of each other, which you have also done here; red and green. Doing this often creates a rather dichotomous clash, but when used in the right way, can be very beautiful.

    I’d call this a completed work, Dana. I say, “go for it!” It is a wonderful addition to your home and is something you should be very proud of. And you did really well for working with acrylic paint as that is one of the more difficult mediums to use. I have used it many times before and it took me a while to get the hand of it! You did well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s such an amazing analysis Mike! I LOVE bright colors, and this year I’m obsessed with orange, blue and green. They are so attractive to me right now. I’m thinking of doing something with an animal in it this time, what’s your favorite exotic or pet animal? I love horses, cats, elephants and giraffes, flamingos, peacocks and swans… I think most animals are beautiful. But I’m allergic to most of them sadly so I can’t have a pet 😦

      Like

      • Thank you Dana! I took a couple of art classes back in college and one of my favorites was this watercolor class and I had so much fun there. I really learned how color works and got to experiment with mixing a lot of colors to form new colors. And taking those classes has helped me to see color in a whole new way. It’s all around us! 🙂

        I’ve been obsessed with the three primary colors, red, yellow and blue lately and I’ve even bought shirts of these colors to wear because I think that they are the coolest! With these three colors, you can create every color that you can possibly come up with! Thinking about them has really helped me to appreciate color a lot more.

        Doing an animal painting would be awesome! I also thought of doing some sort of animal for future postcards.

        I’ve always had a passion for penguins, particularly the emperor penguins, as I love their majestic appearance and elegance, especially when they swim. They may not be able to fly like most birds, but their swimming ability is beyond measure! Plus I like the fact that they make good parents and actually take turn taking care of their young. That I can truly appreciate. 🙂

        I also really like the tortoise because of their rather reclusive nature, which in a way, reminds me of myself. From what I read about them, they seem to be very calm creatures and like to take life in stride, which I can appreciate. Plus, they have one of the longest life spans on the planet; some 150 years or more; outliving any of us. Sometimes I can’t help but wonder some of the things they have seen in such a life span. I’m just too curious sometimes. 🙂

        I agree. Most animals are very beautiful and it just amazes me how different God made each and every one of them. He is just beyond amazing!

        Aww, I didn’t know that you had allergies like that. 😦 That must be rough…

        Like

      • One thing I forgot to mention in my previous analysis are tertiary colors. This color term is a little more complex than primary or secondary and it took me a long time to figure it out. And depending on which color wheel that you use (additive, subtractive or traditional), the color combinations will be different. But the overall concept is basically the same. For instance, on the traditional color wheel where the primary colors are red, yellow and blue. To get a tertiary color, you combine much of one primary color and a little of a secondary color (that’s adjacent to the primary that you use) to get a combination of both colors. For example, mixing a lot of red with a little bit of orange gives you red-orange, or vermilion, as it’s typically called. Or mixing a lot of blue with a little green gives you blue-green, or teal, which happens to be the opposite of vermilion on the color wheel. It’s a lot of fun to see how many different colors you can make using this method and ultimately what makes color theory so interesting! Try it sometime and see!

        Like

Leave a Reply

