Reluctantly Charmed

Step One

In the glowing green fields and shadowy glen,
Our laughs can be heard ‘mongst women and men,
The whistle of gale carries our joyous song,
In the rustle of trees, we’ve been here all along.

‘Tis in the hardness of rocks and corners we dwell,
We’re whispered in songs and stories you tell,
Floating o’er you, we sing and we dance in the rain,
But through the darkness of shadows soar black wails of pain.

One of yours we’ve kept in the depths of our lair,
We took her long ago, the girl of red hair,
With our gifts, she returns with promise of light,
To guide the way out of your sickness of night.

Acknowledge the spirit that in nature lives,
Whistle to flowers, embrace how the fairy world gives,
If you still do not see us, our anger you’ll know,
A cradle burned, a soul extinguished,
In the music it shall show.

The Seven Steps by Kate McDaid

tumblr_nliob42GQB1rms43oo1_1280

Kate McDaid is listing her new-year’s resolutions hoping to kick-start her rather stagnant love life and career when she gets some very strange news. To her surprise, she is the sole benefactor of a great great-great-great aunt and self-proclaimed witch also called Kate McDaid, who died over 130 years ago. As if that isn’t strange enough, the will instructs that, in order to receive the inheritance, Kate must publish seven letters, one by one, week by week.

Burning with curiosity, Kate agrees and opens the first letter – and finds that it’s a passionate plea to reconnect with the long-forgotten fairies of Irish folklore. Almost instantaneously, Kate’s life is turned upside down. Her romantic life takes a surprising turn and she is catapulted into the public eye.

As events become stranger and stranger – and she discovers things about herself she’s never known before – Kate must decide whether she can fulfil her great-aunt’s final, devastating request … and whether she can face the consequences if she doesn’t.

Witty, enchanting and utterly addictive, Reluctantly Charmed is about what happens when life in the fast lane collides with the legacy of family, love and its possibilities … and a little bit of magic.

tumblr_o3vgwb3P3S1s695lko1_1280

In my last visit home, a couple of months ago, I got a dozen of new books and one of them was this charming book by Ellie O’Neill titled “Reluctantly Charmed”, nothing about me was reluctant while this book charmed me.

I just finished this book, a few hours ago, so the charm of a new favorite story still lingers with me. I remember searching for new books a few months ago, and while entering from one book to the next on Amazon I found this astonishingly beautiful cover and I ordered it on the spot. I have a thing for redheads but not all redheads, I have standers! The girl on the cover is mesmerizing, buying this book for the cover in first place was a gamble, but I won a great story with it!

Above, I shared the first of the seven steps to whet your appetite, in the brief synopsis above I also added the general survey of the novel.

The story revolves about Kate McDaid who inherited 7 letters from her great-aunt from 130 years ago, her aunt was a wicked witch, and they not only shared a name, but looks and power as well. The story takes place in modern Ireland but brings out all the folklore charm of the fair folk. If Kate doesn’t continue publishing the letters every week, not only does she not inherit but also the wrath of fairies will fall on her.

Reading this book awakened two parts in me, first I was heartbroken reading passages about Ireland, because it reminded me of Palestine, and how much Ireland lost because of British occupation. England should apologize to many people they hurt along the history in the name of power. But history is history, it does affect the present BUT we choose to let go or embrace our heritage. It would break my heart of Palestinian let go.

tumblr_o62vcerjNF1s695lko1_1280

The second part is a bit personal, BUT books can do that to you, remind you of things you forgot. I too had a fairy friend as a kid, and so many things mentioned in the book gave me goosebumps and awakened a sleeping memory in the back of my mind that I thought of as fiction. As I googled I found many people from different cultures, spoke different languages, had different religions, and were from different times experience the same experiences I went through, which confirmed my old beliefs, some things are unexplainable but are real like you and me. But unlike other people I have proof. It’s such a great book!

they whispered in my dreams and left songs in my head.

The book is magical, funny, thrilling, it could get creepy, and charming; and the author knows Omar Al-Sharif!! But I wanted more of the ending. Not the ending I expected from all the bulidup as the story moved forward.

3 thoughts on “Reluctantly Charmed

  1. This sounds like such a great book, Dana! I wouldn’t mind reading it myself.
    And I agree about what you said about England. Looking at history, we too have suffered all in the name of power as you know. I will always remember my history and never forget where we came from. I don’t have to let it bind or consume me. I can embrace it!

    Anyway, I know that we talked about this before, but you would be great to have at our next book discussion in this blog that I’m a part of as we talk about whatever books that we have read for a given month and it’s always fun to see what everyone else is reading. I’m in the middle of a trilogy series right now called “The Taj Mahal” written by Indu Sundaresan. I finished the first book, “The Twentieth Wife” and am now into reading the second book, “The Feasts of Roses”. I really love the main character as she is seen as being strong, intelligent and witty, and she is put through so many challenges from the very beginning. But she proves herself every time.
    You might like it too as it is a romance, but it has plenty of action and drama that helps keep the story moving. And it’s historical fiction, that of which I am a fan of. One can never go wrong with that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course, you are right, but what is happening in our section in the world is not a forgotten history or horrible memory, it’s present. So the pain of it is very much there. The fight is still going on.

      I googled the series you mentioned and added them to my to-read list, they seems amazing, the covers and titles are gorgeous.

      I would love to join, really but I’m having a hard time at the moment in keeping up this blog and my new project 🙂 invite me to one soon and I will share whatever I’m reading.

      Like

      • Oh yes. I have heard that your struggles continue over there and it never stops. I cannot imagine what horrors you have seen or even experienced. I pray all the time that one day it will cease, just as I pray that discrimination will cease as it’s still going on here as well. It’s just concealed a little more than what it used to be. People like to think (or pretend) that we’re past all of that but truly, we’re not.
        Our worlds are very different, but evil people exists in both and we both must keep fighting for what is right.

        Yes, I love this series and I am so happy that I found it, which was by pure chance. I was looking at a biography (of the author I think) and saw that she wrote historical fiction so I decided to search our catalog and I found these books. I love my job! 🙂

        Oh yes, I understand. And please, never feel pressure and feel like you have to join or anything as I know that you are busy. But even if you just want to say a few words about your current reads, that would be fine. Like I said before, it’s a very informal discussion.
        I believe our next discussion will be on May 18th as they are usually on the second to last Wednesday. Hope to see you there!

        Like

Leave a Reply

